What Cynthia Nixon From Sex In The City Taught Me!


My oldest daughter Lexy was a theater major in New York City.

Lexy was a stage manager with aspirations to work on Broadway.

On the ladder up to this prestigious bunch, Lexy gets her hands wet with what are labeled “ Off Off Broadway” and “Off Broadway” plays.

Several years back I traveled to the Big Apple, to visit Lexy and watch Shakespeare’s, “Twelfth Night”, which she worked with.

These people did a great job with the production, though I am not a Shakespeare fan.

Most of the seats were filled; I was in the back row. We were about twenty minutes into the play when a family walked in. I caught a glimpse of them from the corner of my eye.  The lady was gawking and staring into the pitch darkness for free seats. The only ones were next to me.

I did the neighborly thing. I stretched out my hand towards them, beckoning and pointing them to the ones next to me. This red-head caught sight of my waaving hand thanked me and proceeded to sit with her small children, her son squarely on her lap.

I found it weird when several people turned around, ogling and muttering something at her about meeting at a party.

During the rest of the play this lady lovingly and patiently explained to the son on her lap what was going and even sang along to the music.

I was struck by her gentle spirit.

The lights went up for intermission. My daughter ran up to me, eyes bulging like fried eggs.

“Do you know who this person sitting next to you is?” she laughed.

“No”, I said.

“It’s Cynthia Nixon from Sex in the City”.

I am not a TV watcher.

I replied back to Lexy, “Who’s is Cynthia Nixon and what is Sex in the City?”

At the end of the play Cynthia Nixon gave me her colored program. Everyone else had gotten one in black and white.

She went on to stay, talk to the crew and sign autographs.

For me, she and her family were just people whom God had called me to love and be friendly to. The Bible tells us to reach out to strangers and be hospitable to them.

This is one day that I was glad that I am not a TV watcher.

Cynthia Nixon and her family were simply folks in need of seats.

Image

One thought on “What Cynthia Nixon From Sex In The City Taught Me!

Leave a comment