“A Jell-O Forehead”


Ezekiel 3:4  And He said unto me, “Son of man, go, get thee unto the house of Israel, and speak with My words unto them.

5  For thou art not sent to a people of strange speech and of a hard language, but to the house of Israel,

6  not to many people of strange speech and of a hard language, whose words thou canst not understand. Surely, had I sent thee to them, they would have hearkened unto thee.

7  But the house of Israel will not hearken unto thee, for they will not hearken unto Me; for all the house of Israel are impudent and hardhearted.

8  Behold, I have made thy face strong against their faces, and thy forehead strong against their foreheads.

9  As an adamant, harder than flint, have I made thy forehead. Fear them not, neither be dismayed at their looks, though they be a rebellious house.”

In chapter three, Ezekiel receives God’s prophetical calling.  God instructs him  that he would not be sent to a land far away, but would preach to his very own Jewish people.

The Lord furthermore tells Ezekiel not to fear their backbiting comments and arrogant gazes.  He has made the prophet’s forehead harder than adamant, and harder than theirs.

Adamant is a stone, a gem. It is denoted as tougher in quality than a diamond.

There is no material than can scratch the surface of a diamond, yet the diamond  scratches anything. It is considered as the most hardened of nature’s elements. Yet, the surface of the adamant can be more impenetrable or indurated than the diamond’s.

A person’s forehead communicates many things.

An erect face and forehead is a sign of confidence, determination and purpose.

Look at Luke’s description of Jesus.

Lu 9:53  And they did not receive him, because his face was as though he would go to Jerusalem.

A downcast face portrays depression or defeat. Eyes which can’t look at you articulate either insecurity, rejection or dishonesty.

A bull pushes with his forehead.

An individual crushed in spirit hangs his forehead in shame.

Ezekiel 3:4  And He said unto me, “Son of man, go, get thee unto the house of Israel, and speak with My words unto them.

5  For thou art not sent to a people of strange speech and of a hard language, but to the house of Israel,

6  not to many people of strange speech and of a hard language, whose words thou canst not understand. Surely, had I sent thee to them, they would have hearkened unto thee.

7  But the house of Israel will not hearken unto thee, for they will not hearken unto Me; for all the house of Israel are impudent and hardhearted.

8  Behold, I have made thy face strong against their faces, and thy forehead strong against their foreheads.

9  As an adamant, harder than flint, have I made thy forehead. Fear them not, neither be dismayed at their looks, though they be a rebellious house.”

God gave me these verses right after my salvation in 1979 as I sat in an empty church.

These words rang loud and true in my spirit. In thirty years it has proven to be one of most dynamic of prophecies.

Back then however, these words appeared as an illusion, a hallucination, or a figment of imagination.

I had been a severe stutterer since I was four.  Rejection, insecurity, terror, and panic were my friends.  I knew nothing else.

I was still on drugs and booze.

I couldn’t speak to three people at a time. I would flee from a ringing phone.

I had the most frail of foreheads. I couldn’t look at anybody in the eye because of the speech impediment.

Like Moses I said, “Who me?”

Thirty  years later, these words have come to pass.

My wife and I do international Bible conferences. I can speak to any number of people. I rarely show recognizable signs of a speech impediment.

The telephone which was my greatest foe, is now a good friend.

I am able to lovingly confront anybody in the midst of an misunderstanding.

I treat the most insignificant and the most famous person equally.

I don’t back down from a challenge as long as I know that God is in it.

Truly God has given me a hard forehead. All glory goes to God and the work of his Holy Spirit.

God, many times, will take an individual’s greatest fears, or weaknesses, his handicaps and flaws and turn them into unconquerable attributes. I’ve seen this so often. This is how He glorifies Himself.

When I see a glaring weakness or handicap when counseling, I tell the person that God will probably raise him  to be just the opposite.

So today, look at your own life.

What is your greatest fear? What is that pesky bondage that you can’t overcome?  What is the handicap that is a thorn to  your side?

If you are truly obedient  to God, He will raise you up to do just the contrary, and probably through many great feats.

Don’t lose hope. Remember me. God gave me a diamond forehead for one of Jell-O.

Image

3 thoughts on ““A Jell-O Forehead”

  1. Greetings! I was curious to know if setting up a site such your own: http:
    //emergingusa.org/2012/08/20/a-jell-o-forehead-2/ is
    hard to do for inexperienced people? I’ve been wanting to create my own website for a while now but have been turned off because I’ve always believed
    it demanded tons of work. What do you think?
    Thankyou

    Like

Leave a Reply

