“And friends are friends forever If the Lord’s the Lord of them”


A seed as any seed, takes a long time to spring and bear fruit.

My wife Mary, and my daughter Lexy, are in New Mexico on the way to LA.

Lexy is re settling from NY to So Cal to continue with her career.

They are driving cross-country with Lexy’s stuff.

Our family lived in the grand desert beauty of New Mexico between 1997 to 2006.

Though absent for eight years, we keep many lovely friendships.

Yesterday, Mary telephoned me from Albuquerque, breathlessly.

They met up with a friend in the town where we used to live.

This man told Mary.

“I will never forget the time that Jose prayed for me.

I was working with a chronically bad knee.

My knee was so bad that I could no longer hold my job and had to quit.

 Jose asked if he could pray for my knee. I told him yes. He asked me to roll up the leg of my pant and proceeded to rub my knee with oil and pray.

Then he left.

Months later all the pain was gone.  

I was able to go back to work, and in ten years the knee has never ever hurt me again.”

I clearly remembered that occasion such a long time back.

My friend was limping so badly, almost as long as I knew him.

My prayer had little faith. I did not feel God’s power. But I had God’s compassion for him.

It made my day to know that my friend with the chronically bad knee was healed by God.

It’s all about love.

We did not have many spiritual things to speak about.  But the love of Christ was always there.

I says, that it’s all about love. When in doubt, love.  When not in doubt, love

I never gave that day a second thought.

For me, my prayer in Jesus Name,  and my flask of anointing oil, had been one seed to plant in a soul’s life.

But as a seed in the hands of the Great Sower planted in the garden of the Great Vine Dresser, it sprouted to become the fruit of a beautiful testimony.

Never underestimate what God is doing through you, my friend!

Ga 6:9  And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

Finally, as look with wonder at these smiling pictures of people whom we have not seen for eight years, I can only think of Michael W Smith’s sublime song, “Friends”

“And friends are friends forever

If the Lord’s the Lord of them”

And a friend will not say never

‘Cause the welcome will not end

Though it’s hard to let you go

In the Father’s hands we know

That a lifetime’s not too long to live as friends.”

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

182518_10152836838565118_1865767546_n

Leave a Reply

