The Great Pause and Other Goodies


Heb 4:3 For we which have believed do enter into rest, as he said, As I have sworn in my wrath, if they shall enter into my rest: although the works were finished from the foundation of the world.

Rest ( katapauis): Pausis means “pause’ . Kata is an emphatic word.
I call rest, “ The Great Pause.”

Faith is the eternal pause from looking at circumstances, doubt, double mindedness and unbelief, to being indisputably convinced and fully persuaded that what God has told me will come to pass. It is a rest in that God has settled all accounts, once and for all by His word. Faith is the title deed to God’s house.

My whole Christian life I have sadly lived in these traits and have not entered into The Great Pause, and have been slow to get from the Lord. Yesterday, I got a fresh revelation of faith and how nothing is impossible for God. Not only that, but I know that God wants to give me things sooner than what I have presently received them, but will not short circuit the truth of His word to give me when I’m I asking in error. I am ready to enter the Great Pause 34 year later.

Roma 12:2 And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

Transformed: metamorphosis (present tense: moment by moment)
Renewing: anakainois making new by making novel, unique and out of the box.  This is out of the box, unlimited thinking.
Mind: Nous (the mind, including the brain and all of its processes).

I am not my brother’s keeper when it comes to the way that he or she studies the Bible. My wife is not at all attracted by my studies in the original languages. She says, “It’s all Greek to me”.

Yet, if we are called to be metamorphosed into the image of Christ, what does this process entail? What does it entail for a caterpillar to become a butterfly? Paul tells us that metamorphosis is proportional to the transformation of our mind into that of Christ’s by the revelation of God’s word.

I don’t know how much my brothers and sisters are interested to be metamorphosed into the image of Christ, nor if do they understand the cost of walking in revelation knowledge that renews the mind to the point where metamorphosis can take place.

We live in times in where we want text message Christianity. I can assure that metamorphosis will not fully take place like that. For me the study of the Greek brings me into deep revelation, renewal and metamorphosis.

Are we interested to be metamorphosed into the image of Christ? Are we willing to pay the price of total commitment?

Freedom and healing will not come without it. Prayer lines will not set you free.

Let this be a new day of commitment to the study of God’s Word in the way that He teaches you.

For those who have an I Pad and like to study the Greek nuances of the Biblical texts may I recommend a new application? I think that its $ 9.00 but so well worth the price. In my studies of the Greek I’ve found that the best lexicon or Greek word studies has been the New Testament Greek English Lexicon based on Semantic Domains. I’ve only found this digitally in the Logos Bible program for Windows which can cost up to 1000.00. I was so excited when I found this amazing lexicon now embedded in the new application by the name of Scripture Direct Interlinear Greek Bible” for I Pad. I believe that you will thank me for it. It’s in the Apple Store.

Ro 4:21 And being fully persuaded that, what he had promised, he was able also to perform.
I am discovering that the one thing which I fail to do, is the quickest way of getting to the place which God intends for me to get to. When God created things, He said, “let there be light.” To let, is to allow, or to permit. To allow or to let is to allow the things which God has promised to you to simply begin to happen. To let, is an ascent to receive, by being fully persuaded in your heart that God will do what He said.

So many times through unbelief or looking at circumstances, I end up not permitting or letting what God said He would do to travel its course.

This can be called double minded. It’s been such a struggle for me to simply permit and allow and not go around the mountain of looking at circumstances over and over. Most of the time I don’t permit God to do what He wants to by loving unbelief more than simply permitting and receiving.

The service at Doral Vineyard was colored with a heavy presence of God’s glory. My good friend Pastor Shaun Smith shared with me that there are three ways to teach a person. One is didactic, which is what happens in a sermon. The second is through apprenticeship, where you take someone under your wing. The third is immersion, where you immerse the person fully into the culture of what you do. I love when the Holy Spirit immerses people who have hardly been touched by the waters of Holy Spirit ministry. This is what happened yesterday when the Holy Spirit used folks who have had little opportunity to pray for others, to pray. I love to see their reactions when the Spirit flows through them just like He does through me. I tell them, “Do you see that it’s not about me, but it’s the Holy Spirit?” Final point, I believe that in many cases the Holy Spirit’s favorite way of teaching is through immersion, and I would say, it’s the most effective way. The older I get in the Lord, the more that I lean repeatedly towards immersion ministry.

Image

One thought on “The Great Pause and Other Goodies

  1. I wanted to send you a prayer initiative about the Benghazi situation ,
    Not sure how to send an attackment of if i should cut and paste?
    Please let me know if you would be interested.

    Like

Leave a Reply

