How God Used A Hurricane To Teach Me His Voice


My first encounter with hearing God’s voice occurred with Hurricane David in August of 1979.

I was new in Christ.

In those years we lived on Key Biscayne.

My father, and my now deceased mother, were getting divorced and my father had moved out of our home.

When Hurricane David was tracking across Santo Domingo, I believed that I heard the voice of God, for the first time.

God told me that David was not going to hit Miami.

I told my parents that God had said this.  Many people are shocked with that type of statement.

“How does God speak to you”, they ask?

Nevertheless, I was an impetuous young man, full of faith in the God who was transforming me.

“God told me that the hurricane is not going to hit,” I countered again.

David, however, with massive wind fields was zeroing in on Miami.

About 48 hours before its arrival, the Key Biscayne Police Department drove around with megaphones telling people to leave.

“I am not leaving, because God told me that the hurricane is not going to hit. I am going to prove to you that God talks to me.”

You can imagine what my family thought of me, and what I put them through.

But obedience to God is always better than any sacrifice we can make.

We boarded up the home and my mother, brother and sister left for the Holiday Inn on the edge of the key.

I remained with my giant print, green Living Bible, a weather radio, and a few flashlights.

With the eye of the potent hurricane 10 hours away, light rains began. I had the TV on and read verses from the Bible.  The winds and rains intensified. Suddenly the lights went out. With the absence of noise, I could clearly hear the ever-increasing winds.  I became glued to my radio.

My mother frantically telephoned and pleaded with me to come out to the Holiday Inn.  I freaked. I got the keys to the car to flee.

Opening the door, howling winds and horizontal rains pelted me.  There was no way out. Trying the phone back to my mother, the lines had dropped.

I did not know if I had heard a demon and not God.

It was about 1:00 AM. The eye was to hit at about 6:00 AM.

My weather radio also died.  The only sounds were the shrieks of the winds which got more potent and boisterous.

I was terrified.

I got my Bible and the flashlight and began to read from the Book of Job.

It’s in the midst of walking on the waters of faith that is when God answers.

It’s when we step out on the fragile limb that the Lord acts.

But He is there and always faithful.

We will never discover His faithfulness unless we go through these types of situations.

With flashlight shining on the giant print Bible I opened to the Book of Job.

Job 38:1 Then the LORD answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

I knew that God was speaking. God talking to Job out of the whirl wind!  God was now talking to me out of the whirl wind!

Job 40:15 Behold now behemoth, which I made with thee; he eateth grass as an ox.

The behemoth in the King James Version is cattle, a water buffalo, or a rhinoceros. But as I read this scripture, the rays of my flashlight hit a darkened part of the wall, and landed on a huge white moth!    Behemoth….moth!   The timing could only be God’s! It was surreal.

At about 3:30 AM the winds increased all the more.  I got angry at God. I ranted at Him.  I climbed on a chair and shook my fist.

“You told me that the hurricane was not going to hit.” “You are lying to me, I am going die out here.”

I opened back to Job, frantic for an answer.

God then answers Job and me again from the whirlwinds.

This time He rebuked me for my panicky state.

 Job 40:6 Then answered the LORD unto Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

7  Gird up thy loins now like a man: I will demand of thee, and declare thou unto me.

8  Wilt thou also disannul my judgment? wilt thou condemn me, that thou mayest be righteous?

9  Hast thou an arm like God? or canst thou thunder with a voice like him?

I read on until Job 42.

Job 42:8  Therefore take unto you now seven bullocks and seven rams, and go to my servant Job, and offer up for yourselves a burnt offering; and my servant Job shall pray for you: for him will I accept: lest I deal with you after your folly, in that ye have not spoken of me the thing which is right, like my servant Job.

At that moment that God says “my servant Job shall pray for you”, I dropped my Bible, fell on my face unto the cold white tile floor.

“Oh God, please forgive me, I was wrong. Please make the hurricane turn around.”   

For ninety minutes I cried out.

The winds amplified the more. I redoubled my efforts.

Then after an hour, with my face still buried frozen into the cracks of the floor, the winds began to decrease.

By 5:00 AM there was a significant reduction in the wind speed.

I kept on praying.

By six o clock the winds were only about 50 miles per hour. The eye should have been upon Miami.  There was no power or phone. I had no idea what happened.  I fell asleep exhausted.

I discovered that at about 5:00 AM when David was over the Bahamas, its steering currents shifted and thrust the hurricane northward. This is how I began to hear and learn the voice of God.

If we are to accurately her His voice we must go through some of these situations.

Happy Friday and cheers!

Image

Image courtesy source please click on the picture

Leave a Reply

