What Does Twenty Minutes With Jesus Looks Like?


Yesterday, we took part in Thirsty Thursday.

This bi monthly event is headed up by a number of Christian college students from Nyack.

In this event the group play worship music at the Nyack Gazebo, prays together and then go in groups to the streets to share the love of Jesus.

After that it’s on to a pizza joint to warm up and get fellowship.

The night was especially cold, drizzly and foggy.

The temperature was in the 50’s and we froze our behinds off.

Nonetheless, during the warmth of the worship music spilling from the gazebo, occasional onlookers stopped and listen.

One took a song sheet and joined us.

Another guy who plays guitar joined us.

At the end, we had twenty minutes to walk the streets and share Jesus.

My group had Gina Choi and another girl by the name of Carlie.

Immediately, God’s Spirit pointed a young woman sitting on the bench while her child played close to the gazebo.

As we approached her I said, “Excuse me, I am pastor from Miami and God speaks to me, and I felt I had something for you. Would it be okay, if I share it with you?”

A bit surprised, taken aback, and hesitant, she said okay.

I said, “I see two musical notes together, does this mean anything to you?’”

I was surprised, when she pleasantly startled replied, “Well I have two children and they are both in dancing.”

From that word we prayed more for her and her kids.

Those five minutes were remarkably powerful. This girl was deeply impacted by what occurred, and it had all come from a simple word from the Holy Spirit.

From there as we crossed the street we spotted and man struggling to move on a walker. His limp was prominent and his steps were very slow.

There was a younger woman, fashionably dressed assisting him.

My friend Gina Choi felt led to pray for him.

Walking up to them, Gina boldly stepped up and if she could.

The fashionable woman, broke out into a big grin.

She was a Spirit filled Christian.

She said that she had been tempted not to go out because of the cold but something told her to. She was so grateful to us for praying for her friend. The man also wanted prayer. God gave us a number of knowledge words for his condition.

Once again, a five minute Holy Spirit encounter, caused a timeless impact in these lives.

The Holy Spirit then told me to stop and wait with the two girls on the sidewalk.

It was not long before a man whom I have ministered to on previous trips walked by me. I greeted and told him that I would be in town another 5 weeks.

Our twenty minutes were up and we returned back to the gazebo.

As we approached it, my friend Piero was finishing sharing Jesus with a man. I got a word for him.

I saw a pen with a flower stuck through the man’s left hand.

I felt that this weird picture meant that the guy was a writer but was not using his gift.

Indeed when I asked him, he was a writer of books and music, who according to his mother had been hiding his writing abilities in the sand.

Another five minute brilliant impact by Jesus.

What did you think of these twenty minutes with Jesus?

So much fun, and so easy.

The greatest news is that if I can do it, so can you.

Many blessings

Image

20140508_213708

Leave a Reply

