The Spirit Of Self Control


Gal 516 I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall by no means fulfill the lust of the flesh.

17 For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these things oppose each other, so that you do not do the things that you wish.

Why do I know that the Bible is the Word of God? If it was not the Word of God, but a lie, I would not be experiencing the incredible reality of these verses.

For 36 years, I never grasped the meaning of these scriptures.

There have been areas in my life that I have miserably failed to overcome in.

No matter how much I have wished, or willed, as Paul says, my will was not strong enough.

I never quite understood what it means to walk in the Spirit. It’s only now that I see that to walk in the Spirit is to conduct my life in the new humanity, which Jesus Christ offers and is.

Anything outside the new humanity, which is me according to who I have been, will always fail.

My trying to overcome, or wish or will out of my own self has miserably failed.

The new humanity, Christ Jesus, however, overcame. His wish or will is stronger than all. It’s perfect

Conducting my life out of this new humanity is conducting my life out of a will that is stronger than all.

That is what it means to walk in the Spirit and I will not fulfill the lust o the flesh.

Only the new humanity does as He wishes or wills according to God.

So it’s not a matter of trying, or willing or wishing.

I tried this for 36 years, and I can overwhelmingly say, that I have failed.

But as I am learning to conduct my life strictly out of the new humanity, I do so from The One who tried, willed, and wished, and totally conquered all.

I suddenly find myself not struggling with the temptations that I did for so many years.

The fruits of the Spirit is self-control.

It’s not my self-control, but the self-control exercised by the new human, Christ Jesus is me, who has a self-control greater than all.

The key is to get out of the old humanity totally and into the new, by the renewing of the mind.

Image

Leave a Reply

