Oh That I Had Wings Like a Dove


Ps 55:6 And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! for then would I fly away, and be at rest.

Romans 7:24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?

25 I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.

 Last night I listened to an Alberto and Kim Rivera song during my soaking time.

The lyrics were about being given the wings of a bird to fly away from the garbage of this life to become one with the resurrected Lord. After thirty six years with Jesus, and preaching about freedom, I have not been free. In some ways I I’ve parked at and messing around with my filthy corpse in Jesus tomb who had been co crucified and co died with Him, called the body of this death. Sin makes us into vultures that peck at and eat from the rotting body which Christ has discarded from us.

Alas, the plight of human nature.

Even for the Christian the experiential breaking free into liberty by being given wings of a dove to escape from the demons of this expired body, and fly into the heavens to become one with the resurrected Christ, is less than one percent.

Last night I felt the final break as the bird that had flew out of the trap of the hunter, to begin my journey upwards into union with the Lord.

Only God can do this!

What was the key? Absolute repentance from everything that I knew was wrong The last giant was my over weightness which through obstinacy had kept me fettered to this rotting body.

Another was my lack of financial generosity due to fear and unbelief.

God doesn’t have shortcuts. His lessons are exhaustive. Until we go through them in repentance, freedom will not come.

I have never known what it is to have the wings of the dove and to fly away into the sunlight of union with my resurrected Lord. I am convinced that Jesus broke me free last night, and so has my journey began.

If I allow the habits of sin back, my precious and costly wings will be clipped and I will fall smack on top of the rotting body of this death.

 

dove

 

Leave a Reply

