Yield Your Rights and Commute Your Prison Sentence


 Mt 5:5 Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

Mt 11:29 Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am meek and lowly in heart, and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

Mt 21:5 “Tell ye the daughter of Zion, ‘Behold, thy King cometh unto thee, meek and sitting upon an ass, and a colt, the foal of an ass.’”

Ga 5:23 meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

Eph 4:2 with all lowliness and meekness, with longsuffering, forbearing one another in love,

Col 3:12  Therefore, holy and beloved, as the elect of God, put on hearts of mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind, meekness, longsuffering,

1Ti 6:11 But thou, O man of God, flee these things and follow after righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, meekness.

1Pe 3:4 but let it be the hidden man of the heart which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which in the sight of God is of great price.

To be meek is not to be weak!

Bill Gothard, a Bible teacher in the 1980’s, gave a brilliant definition on meekness.

He said that in a Christian, meekness it the opposite to anger.

Anger can have different sources.

One is undealt with emotional hurts. Another one is unyielded rights.

Christians have forfeited all rights to Jesus Christ as His love slaves. A slave had no rights. His master, if he was a noble one, provided for all of the needs of His slave.

The Christian is called to pick up his or her cross and follow Christ. What does the cross represent? It is an instrument of death. When we follow Christ we confess that we are crucified with Him on the cross, called to die with Him, as pertaining to whom we were, so that resurrected Christ can be revealed through us. So whom we were, with all of the personal rights that went along, died on the cross.

The only right that Christian has is the right to obey Jesus Christ by the voice of the Holy Spirit and His written Word.

When a person does not want to relinquish a certain right to God, anger wells up.

God asks for something, and the Christian unyielded, draws a line in the sand to God saying, “I will only go this far, but I am not willing to obey you in this!”

His reaction to Gods’ request will manifest in anger, defiance, and or stubbornness.

Thus in many instances of anger in a Christian the core is unyielded rights.

Meekness, is the opposite of anger. Meekness in a Christian describes a person who has yielded his rights to God or is in that process of it.

It is in this flavor that I have reblogged this entry about myself.

Today I discovered the greatest, most profound, and the most destructive, of my prisons.

Really, I did not discover it. Jesus had taken me there.

This is the prison of my rights.

It was a deep and subconscious penitentiary; a moated and lofty castle of my rights, my life, my control, my religion, my opinions, my beliefs, my expectations, my dreams, and my plans.

This was the one castle which I would not allow God in. I had assembled it when I had been hurt as a child, when fear and mistrust came in.

It was a towering shelter for me protecting myself. In this high citadel of my rights, no one and nothing could hurt me. Not even God, Himself.

From here I controlled my life, even my death. The dilemma though, is that because I am born in sin, it blinded me, and the path that I conjectured ended in destruction. A blind man cannot see.

I had a glimpse of this mental fortress. It was a little drought stricken piece of land, incredibly dry and cracked. Rain had not fallen upon it for many, many years.

There was one little sickly plant that had broken through its fissured terrain.

That little plant represented all my rights, I had vowed to defend. It had shut me in oppressed, and separated from my loving Creator.

I prayed today, and felt a stone hard place in my soul, close to my heart, where this land resides for all people. It’s named, “hardness and embitterment of heart.”

Everybody owns it. It’s the created place of past pain, where everybody vowed not to be hurt again, and now dwell apparently protected in this “the land of the hardened heart of my rights.”

As I interceded in earnest, Jesus opened the padlock to this prison and let me out. I know now that I can be healed and freed.

Every person partakes of this prison. Every human lives in the parched and barren land of his rights. He will do anything not to relinquish it . He might even go to hell claiming this land, even if all he has is its memories.

“Not even God will I let in”, he swears.

It’s all about protecting this little parched piece of land. It’s the little place of safety. We believe that we know better than God, as we pace back and forth in unmitigated darkness, in this our tiny castled dungeon, feeling very right, justified and smart.

“I know that God is out to steal this dungeon right from under my feet; He is such a bully”, another protests.

What God has is so much more extravagantly massive, yet in the blindness of pain, we clench to our detention house.

We are on a miniscule sandbar in the middle of an enormous ocean of blessings that God has for us, but we are so intent on holding on to the sandbar of our rights, that we never look up to see the waters around us.

“The sandbar is mine”, she says.

“It’s my rights, it’s my opinions, and it’s my life.”

So we give up the colossal for the minuscule, and justify ourselves in doing so.

In reality, the only rights given to us are the right to worship and obey God. I mean, God is the only one who is not blind.

Many will die in this prison, clenching this tiny dust bowl with the last gasp of breath.

I wish that I would have surrendered earlier to the One who can be fully trusted, and who longed to get me out, and not served a miserable 57 year sentence.

power

Yield your rights and let the power of God touch you!

I praise God that I am finally out, though.

Leave a Reply

