Dear Church, Here’s Why People Are Really Leaving You!


Following is my response to an article I read on Facebook.

Here is the article link.

http://www.faithit.com/dear-church-heres-why-people-are-really-leaving-you/

Here is my response!

“This man makes some good points, though I caution against lumping everybody into the same box. Every church is different and many do not fit what he describes.
Some do.

For me, this is the bottom line. I have been a Christian for 36 years. I have been in church all of these years. I have never stopped going to church.

I have been in a number of churches which had more serious problems than the ones he described. I did not leave simply because they had problems. When I left it was because God told me to.

For me, church is more than a Sunday service. The Bible tells me that with those who consider themselves Christians, I am part with them, of body of Christ.

My reason for attending church is not for the nuances of the Sunday service. It is my desire to connect with the rest of Christ’s body. The hand cannot be isolated from the eye or the leg. Can you imagine that? Church is a vital avenue for allowing this connection to occur.

Secondly, I go to church not to be catered to by the flashy lights, bagels or coffee or the pastor’s sermon. Years ago God told me, to go to church to cater to others and not to be catered to. This changed my life. Church will be boring if one goes expecting to get the ideal sermon or great worship or the perfect lingo. But if you go there with the attitude of how can God use me to bless or pray for someone who is hurting, God will use you.

Many hurting people go to Sunday church. This is a known fact. For many years God has used me to bless someone in need. I have never failed to have a wonderful experience of being able to assist someone who has come hurting, week after week, and year after year.
I mean, one does not leave a job because things are not right? If this was the case we would not last in any job more than a few months.
So why should I walk out of church because things are not right?

The danger with our society is that if things are not going the way I want them to I’ll walk, instead of saying, God use me to bless someone today.

Or what about God use me to make a change in this church?

I never got to church to get the Word of God. If the emphasis is that my Christian experience hinges on what the pastor says, my relationship with God is shallow. My relationship with God is from day to day, not just on Sundays.

People who summarily leave churches because things are not right need to examine if their relationship with God should go deeper.
We should have an ongoing relationship with God every day.
Church is the outflow of this relationship.
It should be a time to connect with the rest of the body of Christ, and a time to give out what God has put in during the week.

I agree with every one of his reasons. Things do need to change, but let it begin with you and me. Let us be ones who say to God, use me to affect the change, and not just be another one who sees the church as a glass half empty and leaves.

I want to be a catalyst for change in church. I don’t mind getting my hands dirty in people’s lives.

Those who isolate themselves from the activity of church will grow lopsided as a hand or an eye which dwells alone.

Yes, many things in the church need to change, but we must remember that church is not a service, or a sermon, or the flashy lights. It’s a sea of people, many of them hurting. Many come to church as a last resort.

If we want to see church become better it will have to be about making people’s lives better, not the service.

God’s call is always the same. Will you be the person who will affect change and make someone one’s life better, or will it all be about you and what you can get out of church?

Leaders affect change. Followers let change affect them.”

Leader’s influence people. Followers allow people’s sins to influence and mess up their lives.

If one’s life consists in being catered to, he will never be catered to. If someone’s life consists in how I can cater to another, he will always be catered to.

Picture 397

Church in Kampala Uganda

HPIM1727.JPG

Church in Kibera, Kenya, the second largest slum in Africa

Maasia Land Kanisa

Church in Maashuru, Kenya

HPIM0925.JPG

The former church of my good friend, Edward Nyakundi Simon

Aram Kanisa

The potato bag roof church in Aram Kenya

Leave a Reply

